

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE



AND THE LEGAL PROFESSION

GUEST SPEAKERS



HARRY SURDEN



BRIAN HOLLAND



JIM SHOOK



MILAN MARKOVIC



BRIAN SHEPPARD



AARON RETTEEN



DAVID HRICIK



JAN JACOBOWITZ



JOHN BROWNING



MATTHEW SCHERER



MARK UNGER



RON CHICHESTER

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Registration & Breakfast

9:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. Opening Remarks

9:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. What AI Is (and Is Not)

Harry Surden, Associate Professor of Law, University of Colorado Law School Brian Holland, Professor of Law, Texas A&M University School of Law

10:00 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. Al and Governance

Jim Shook, Director of DPS Cybersecurity and Compliance Practice, Dell EMC Milan Markovic, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Assessment, Strategic Analysis, and Reporting, Texas A&M University School of Law

Moderator: Professor Saurabh Vishnubhakat. Texas A&M University School of Law

10:45 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Break

11:00 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. Al and Access to Legal Information

Brian Sheppard, Professor of Law, Seton Hall University School of Law Aaron Retteen, Instructional Assistant Professor of Law and Digital Services

Repository Librarian, Texas A&M University School of Law

Moderator: Professor Brian Holland, Texas A&M University School of Law

11:45 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Lunch

1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. The Ethical Implications of AI

David Hricik, Professor of Law, Mercer University Walter F. George School of Law Jan Jacobowitz, Lecturer in Law and Director of the Professional Responsibility

and Ethics Program, University of Miami School of Law

Moderator: Professor Susan Fortney, Texas A&M University School of Law

1:45 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Break

2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Al in the Field

John Browning, Shareholder at Passman & Jones, PC Matthew Scherer, Associate at Littler Mendelson, PC

Mark Unger, The Unger Law Firm, PC Ron Chichester, Ronald Chichester, PC

Moderator: Professor Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Texas A&M University School of Law

3:15 p.m. Closing Remarks



2017-2018

BOARD OF EDITORS

EXECUTIVE BOARD

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF HAYLEY SAUER

MANAGING EDITOR

JORDAN SIMMONS HAYES

BUSINESS EDITOR

TRAVIS ALLEY

EXECUTIVE EDITOR

HOPE C. SHELTON

SYMPOSIUM EDITOR

CATHERINE WIRTH

GENERAL BOARD

SENIOR CITATION EDITOR

LOLA WILSON

SURVEY EDITOR MICHAEL WINDUS SENIOR ARTICLES EDITOR

MADDIE HOWARD CHURCHMAN

CITATION EDITORS

BYRON BAILEY
NATHAN SURPRISE

NOTE AND COMMENT EDITORS
CHRISTIAN KRAMER

ARTICLES EDITORS
TIMOTHY MACGORMAN
ELISABETH FAIRBANKS

ROBIN MILLS

STAFF

TIMOTHY AZEVEDO EMILY BOWLIN PHILIP BEDFORD KENDAL CARNLEY MENGYUAN FANG

ALEXANDER J. ANTONIO

MENGYUAN FANG ALEXANDRIA GUIAM HANNAH HANSEN KEVIN HERNANDEZ CORY HOLIFIELD

FACULTY ADVISOR PROFESSOR SAURABH VISHNUBHAKAT JACOB HUGENTOBLER
JORDAN JENSEN
MATTHEW KORONCZOK
ELIZABETH LUEVANO
PETER J. KUYLEN
ERICA MAHONEY
SPENCER MAINKA
JENNIFER MARKS
AARON MITCHELL
SARA MURDOCK
REGINA PALMER-COLEMAN

RON PARENT
CARA SITTON
ROBYN SMITH
BRIAN STEINOCHER
LUIS SUAREZ
MARK THORNE-THOMSEN
PETER TRAN
LAUREN TRIMBLE

DANIEL WEINSTEIN

KINDAL WETUSKI

STAFF ADVISOR Ms. Deborah Barnett

Generously Supported by State Bar of Texas Computer & Technology Section

